Namibia's national reserves and game parks are owned by Government and managed on its behalf by the Ministry of Environment and Tourism. Since independence there has been a rapid escalation in the number and size of private conservation areas.

1. The Mahango Game Reserve borders on the perennial Okavango River, and extends over 244kmē.

2. The 32km-wide Caprivi Game Park of 5 715kmē extends for about 180 km from the Okavango River to the Kwando River.
3. The Mudumu National Park is a vast 1 010kmē expanse of dense savannah and mopane woodlands, with the Kwando River as its western border.
4. The 320kmē Mamili National Park, the largest wetland area with conservation status in Namibia.
5. The Khaudum Game Reserve protects the northern Kalahari sandveld biome.
6. The Mangetti Game Reserve in the Kavango Region is managed as a game-breeding area.
7. The Etosha National Park, at 22 270kmē, is one of the largest game reserves in Africa.
8. The Skeleton Coast Park covers an area of 16 400kmē.
9. The Cape Cross Seal Reserve, approximately 130km north of Swakopmund, was proclaimed to protect up to 23 colonies of Cape Fur seals.
10. The National West Coast Recreation Area, a 200km stretch of coastline between the Swakop and Ugab rivers is renowned for its outstanding angling potential.
11. Rising some 200m above a surrounding sea of bush and savannah, the 405kmē Waterberg Plateau Park, is home to some 25 game and 200 bird species.
12. The Von Bach Game Reserve, south of Okahandja, extends for 43kmē and is a popular venue for aquatic sports.
13. The Daan Viljoen Game Park is comparatively small (3 953ha) and is a popular retreat for Windhoek residents and tourists.
14. The Hardap Game Reserve covers an area of 250kmēand offers excellent game viewing opportunities.
15. Namib-Naukluft Park, a vast wilderness of 50 000kmē.
16. The focal point of the 23 000ha Naute Recreation Resort, is Namibia's 3rd largest dam.
17. Fishriver Canyon Park is comprised of the Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort, the Fishriver Canyon and the Huns Mountains.



Namibia has 5 perennial rivers, all of which delineate her borders:


  • Orange River (South)

  • Kunene, Okavango, Zambezi and Kwando rivers, forming the border between eastern Caprivi and Botswana in the North.

  • Fish and Nosob river

  • Kuiseb, Swakop, Omaruru, Hoarusib, Hoanib, Ugab and Khumib rivers which drain into the Atlantic Ocean

  • Tsauchab

  • Marienfluß ,Omatako and Cuvelai. These originate from Southern Angola and empty its floodwaters into the Etosha Pan.